Click on photo to view more

The Story Orchestra: Swan Lake [Volume 4 - Press the note to hear Tchaikovsky's music]

Sale price Price RM87.00 Regular price RM87.00 Unit price  per 

The Story Orchestra series just gets better and better, and this vibrant interactive version of Tchaikovsky’s iconic ballet is a kaleidoscopic mixture of colour and music that really brings classical music to life. Through beautifully composed illustrations and simplified text, the magic and music of Swan Lake trills off every page.

Discover the spellbinding magic of Swan Lake in this musical retelling of the ballet - push the button on each beautiful scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Tchaikovsky's score.

This tale of a prince, a beautiful swan princess and an evil sorcerer begins in a woodland clearing far, far away. It is Prince Siegfried's 21st birthday. He is playing games with his friends when his mother, the Queen, arrives to tell him he needs to stop having fun and start looking after the kingdom. Prince Siegfried dreams of running away.

He follows an enchanting flock of swans to a clearing by a lake, where four of the little cygnets begin to dance. The most beautiful swan transforms into the Princess Odette, who tells him that she has been cursed to turn into a swan by day and return to her natural form at night by the evil sorcerer Von Rothbart. As the prince and Odette dance, they begin to fall in love.

The story follows Prince Siegfried as he attends his birthday party, is tricked into proposing to Von Rothbart's daughter Odile and returns to the lake to battle the evil sorcerer. Will the prince be reunited with his swan princess?

As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes, you will press the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from the ballet's music. At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, with details about his composition of Swan Lake. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.

Publisher: Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd 

ISBN: 9780711241503 

Number of pages: 24 

Dimensions: 304 x 265 mm 


Open image in slideshow, The Story Orchestra: Swan Lake [Volume 4 - Press the note to hear Tchaikovsky's music]